Sunday, August 05, 2007

Some Democrats caved to Mr. 26% approval

Fear is the only thing our little tinhorn has and it works, even on some Democrats.

I also asked Dodd why Democrats repeatedly engage in the same self-destructive behavior -- refusing to take a hard-core principled stance against the administration, and instead capitulating just enough to look like losers, but -- despite the capitulation -- still allowing the vote to be used against them. As always (see e.g., Iraq War Authorization, warrantless eavesdropping, Military Commissions Act), they capitulate in order to prevent the vote from being used against them, even though it ends up being used against them anyway because so many of them vote (with futility) against it, but do so without ever fighting for, explaining or defending their position.

I also asked him why, when they were in the minority, the Democrats were so afraid to filibuster anything, even something as drastic as the Military Commissions Act or the Alito nomination, whereas the Republicans run around filibustering everything they can find and don't care at all about being called "obstructionist." Why are the Republicans so aggressive with using their minority tools to block all Democratic initiatives whereas Democrats failed to filibuster for years?
Texas House wall of shame:
Henry Cuellar (28th Texas)
Chet Edwards (17th Texas)
Nick Lampson (23rd Texas)
Ciro Rodriguez (23rd Texas)
Should I curse them or feel sorry for them? I don't expect any better from the scared yellow-bellied liberty-denying GOP.

Here are the Dem Senators who would rather give up liberty than - what? - lose an election?, be called weak on national security?

The following Democrats voted to make Bush's wiretap program possibly constitutional again after GOP judges said it wasn't:
Evan Bayh (Indiana); Tom Carper (Delaware); Bob Casey (Pennsylvania); Kent Conrad (North Dakota); Dianne Feinstein (California); Daniel Inouye (Hawai‘i); Amy Klobuchar (Minnesota); Mary Landrieu (Louisiana); Blanche Lincoln (Arkansas); Claire McCaskill (Missouri); Barbara Mikulski (Maryland); Bill Nelson (Florida); Ben Nelson (Nebraska); Mark Pryor (Arkansas); Ken Salazar (Colorado); Jim Webb (Virginia).
Both lists were from Daily Kos.

No comments: